https://journal.fi/afs/issue/feed Agricultural and Food Science 2019-03-19T08:46:49+02:00 Tuula Puhakainen editor@afsci.fi Open Journal Systems <p>Agricultural and Food Science (AFSci) publishes original research reports on agriculture and food research in relation to primary production in boreal agriculture. Acceptable papers must be of international interest and have a northern dimension. We especially welcome papers related to agriculture in Boreal and Baltic Sea Region.</p> <pre>&nbsp;</pre> https://journal.fi/afs/article/view/75125 The effect of CAPN1 and CAST gene variations on meat quality traits in Finnish Aberdeen Angus and Nordic Red Cattle populations 2019-03-19T08:46:49+02:00 Terhi Iso-Touru terhi.iso-touru@luke.fi Maiju Pesonen maiju.pesonen@luke.fi Daniel Fischer daniel.fischer@luke.fi Arto Huuskonen arto.huuskonen@luke.fi Anu Sironen anu.sironen@luke.fi <p>High meat quality and specifically meat tenderness are desired traits by the consumers, however the environmental impact of meat production is becoming a relevant factor in the industry. Therefore, breeding of dual purpose cattle breeds may answer the high demand of meat production in the future. In this study we identified statistical differences between genotypes of <em>CAST</em> and<em> CAPN1</em> gene variants with meat quality traits in a dairy breed (Nordic Red Cattle) and compared the results with beef breed (Aberdeen Angus). Our results show that the favorable alleles have not been selected in the studied dairy breed and thus could be used as a tool for improvement of meat quality. The genes were associated with specific meat quality traits (i.e. sensory juiciness, marbling score and meat color) also in the dairy breed. This supports the utility of known meat quality associated genetic variants to improve meat quality in dairy breeds.</p> 2018-12-18T07:07:05+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/afs/article/view/74582 Effects of primary growth compared to regrowth grass silage on feed intake, growth performance and carcass traits of growing bulls 2019-03-19T08:46:48+02:00 Arto Kalevi Huuskonen arto.huuskonen@luke.fi Sari Rämö sari.ramo@luke.fi Maiju Pesonen maiju.pesonen@luke.fi <p>The objective was to study the effects of primary growth vs. regrowth grass silage on intake, growth and carcass traits of growing bulls. In a feeding experiment, 30 bulls were offered a total mixed ration <em>ad libitum</em>. Two dietary treatments included either first or second cut grass silage (550 g kg<sup>-1</sup> dry matter) supplemented with rolled barley (435 g kg<sup>-1</sup> dry matter) and a mineral-vitamin mixture (15 g kg<sup>-1</sup> dry matter). Feed and energy intake as well as the live weight gain of the bulls decreased when the second cut silage was used instead of the first cut silage. No differences in carcass conformation or carcass fat score between the treatments were observed. Analysed chemical, digestibility or fermentation parameters of the silage samples did not explain the differences in feed intake. However, some second cut silage samples were found to contain mycotoxins (zearalenone, roquefortine C, mycophenolic acid and HT-2), but it is difficult to estimate whether this was the factor that affected feed intake in the present study.</p> 2018-12-19T09:15:53+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/afs/article/view/74372 Quality of meat from young crossbred bulls frozen after 14 days of modified atmosphere storage 2019-03-19T08:46:47+02:00 Katarzyna Śmiecińska katarzyna.smiecinska@uwm.edu.pl Tomasz Daszkiewicz editor@afsci.fi Dorota Kubiak editor@afsci.fi Natalia Piaskowska editor@afsci.fi Sylwia Łojewska editor@afsci.fi <p>The quality of the <em>longissimus lumborum muscle</em> (Holstein-Friesian Black-and-White- HF BW x Belgian Blue - BB bulls) was determined after 14 days of storage under different modified atmospheres (MA) (vacuum; 40% CO<sub>2</sub> + 60% N<sub>2</sub>; 30% CO<sub>2</sub> + 70% Ar) and 6 months of frozen storage following 14 days of MA storage. Weight loss and cooking loss were smaller, and drip loss was greater after frozen storage compared with refrigerated storage. The pH of stored meat was typical of high-quality beef. TBARS values increased after refrigerated storage and after frozen storage. The changes in color parameters point to metmyoglobin formation in frozen meat. Both refrigerator and freezer storage had beneficial influence on tenderness, and shear force values decreased in frozen beef. The composition of MA during refrigerated storage had no effect on the analyzed parameters of beef. Frozen meat that was stored in a MA containing Ar prior to freezing was characterized by the lowest weight loss, and vacuum-packaged meat - by the lowest TBARS values.</p> 2018-12-21T04:57:49+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/afs/article/view/69057 Effect of different doses and application methods of sodium selenate on selenium status in maize for silage 2019-03-19T08:46:47+02:00 Emir Dzomba e.dzomba@ppf.unsa.ba Mirha Djikic m.djikic@ppf.unsa.ba Drena Gadzo d.gadzo@ppf.unsa.ba Senada Cengic-Dzomba s.cengic-dzomba@ppf.unsa.ba Zdenko Loncaric zdenko.loncaric@pfos.hr Bal Ram Singh balram.singh@nmbu.no <p>A two-year field study was conducted to determine the effect of different Se fertiliser application methods and application rates on the selenium content in maize plants. Selenium as sodium selenate was added into soil (10 g and 20 g Se ha<sup>-1</sup>) or sprayed on maize plants (20 g Se ha<sup>-1</sup>). Maize plants from control treatment contained 0.018 and 0.020 mg Se kg DM<sup>-1</sup> in the first and the second year of the study. Foliar application exhibited superior effect by increasing selenium content in the plants up to 0.343 mg kg DM<sup>-1</sup> in the first year, and 0.249 mg kg DM<sup>-1</sup> in the second. Soil selenium application was less effective; selenium content in maize plants varied from 0.018 to 0.019 mg kg DM<sup>-1</sup> in the first and from 0.018 to 0.145 mg kg DM<sup>-1</sup> in the second year, respectively. Strong linear correlation (r=0.71) was found between selenium content in the plants and in grains. Selenium recovery rates were significantly higher in case of foliar treatment compared to soil application.</p> 2018-12-27T06:37:38+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/afs/article/view/74369 Effects of dietary energy allowance in grass silage-based diets during the dry period on production responses and utilization of body reserves in dairy cows 2019-03-19T08:46:46+02:00 Tuomo Kokkonen tuomo.kokkonen@helsinki.fi Siru Salin siru.salin@helsinki.fi Seija Jaakkola seija.jaakkola@helsinki.fi Juhani Taponen juhani.taponen@helsinki.fi Kari Elo kari.elo@helsinki.fi Aila Vanhatalo aila.vanhatalo@helsinki.fi <p>The aim was to study if overconsumption of grass silage during the far-off dry period (FODP) and decreasing feed allowance in close-up dry period (CUDP) affect body condition score (BCS) and body weight (BW) changes, as well as lactation performance and body tissue mobilization after calving in dairy cows. Control diet (CON) was fed to meet the metabolizable energy (ME) requirements, the test diet (HEI) averaged 144% and 119% of ME requirements in the FODP and CUDP, respectively. All cows were fed concentrates in the CUDP (30% of ME d<sup>-1</sup>). Plasma non-esterified fatty acids (NEFA) were lower and insulin tended to be higher in HEI vs. CON prepartum. No dietary effects in accretion or mobilization of body reserves were observed, and accordingly no differences in silage DMI, ME balance and plasma parameters postpartum were detected. Concentrate DMI and milk yield tended to be lower in HEI vs. CON during early lactation.</p> 2018-12-27T11:44:14+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/afs/article/view/68967 Effect of meat and bone meal (MBM) and Bacillus subtilis on the content of nitrogen and phosphorus in soil and white mustard biomass 2019-03-19T08:46:46+02:00 Anna Nogalska anna.nogalska@uwm.edu.pl Małgorzata Skwierawska editor@afsci.fi Aleksandra Załuszniewska editor@afsci.fi <p>The aim of this pot experiment was to determine the effect of increasing rates of meat and bone meal (MBM), applied alone or in combination with a microbial preparation containing<em> Bacillus subtilis</em> (FITOdoctor), on the growth of <em>Sinapis alba</em> L.. Dry matter (DM) yield, the nitrogen (N) and phosphorus (P) content of white mustard were determined, together with the mineral N (Nmin) and available P content of soil. The application of FITOdoctor to the soil improved white mustard yield only during the second growing season. Second-harvest white mustard biomass had a significantly lower content of N and P than first-harvest biomass. The highest MBM rate significantly increased the Nmin content of soil. Nitrogen uptake by plants and N concentration in biomass were highest in the treatments with the highest mineral N content of soil. Similar relationships were observed for P whose uptake by plants was also affected by <em>B. subtilis</em> in two treatments (NPK, 0.8% MBM). MBM is a valuable N and P fertilizer, whereas <em>B. subtilis</em> has varied effects.</p> 2018-12-27T12:02:15+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##