https://journal.fi/matkailututkimus/issue/feed Matkailututkimus 2018-12-21T14:54:07+02:00 Outi Rantala outi.rantala@ulapland.fi Open Journal Systems <p>Matkailututkimus on monitieteinen matkailua, virkistystä ja vapaaaikaa käsittelevä tiedelehti. Lehdessä julkaistaan suomen-, ruotsin- ja englanninkielisiä vertaisarvioituja artikkeleita ja katsausartikkeleita sekä vertaisarvioimattomia kirjoituksia puheenvuorot-, ajankohtaista- ja lektiot-osastoilla.</p> https://journal.fi/matkailututkimus/article/view/77394 Paikallinen arki matkailussa 2018-12-21T14:51:18+02:00 Maria Hakkarainen maria.hakkarainen@ulapland.fi Minni Haanpää minni.haanoaa@ulapland.fi Anu Harju-Myllyaho Anu.Harju-Myllyaho@lapinamk.fi 2018-12-21T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/matkailututkimus/article/view/77388 Polkuja luontoon – Levin kesäreittiverkoston kehittäminen käyttäjäkokemuksia ja ekologista tietoa yhdistäen 2018-12-21T14:53:24+02:00 Marja Uusitalo marja.uusitalo@luke.fi Seija Tuulentie seija.tuulentie@luke.fi Sini Kantola sini.kantola@luke.fi Esa Huhta esa.huhta@luke.fi Vesa Nivala vesa.nivala@luke.fi <p>Tourism season in Lapland is mainly winter. Only one quarter of the registered overnight stays take place in snowless seasons in Lapland. Therefore lots of efforts are made to develop summer tourism. Recreational trails are an important part of this development work. Conventional interviews and surveys produce user-based knowledge that seldom ends up into a system of land-use planning, since information is not georeferenced. This article introduces two methods; one is able to collect user knowledge broadly and comprehensively, the other processes it for trail planning from perspectives of summer and wellness tourism. First, tourists’ and locals’ views about natural areas of the Levi tourism resort were collected with internet-based public participatory geographic information system (PPGIS). The inquiry produced almost three hundred georeferenced favorite places and plenty of descriptive verbal information. This knowledge on strengths, weaknesses and development needs of places was complemented with dozen interviews of locals. The user-based knowledge was combined with ecological knowledge on places that are relevant to nature experiences and wellbeing benefits of nature with the help of GIS-method in order to identify ”hot spots for forest bathing”. The twenty hot spots do not involve only forests but also waterfronts, mires and meadows outside the reach of the official trails but having wellbeing benefits or being important to the users. The Levi network of nature areas was developed in order to give model for land-use and trail planning to avoid the challenges caused by seasonality and to enhance sustainable tourism for other resorts to apply.</p> 2018-12-21T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/matkailututkimus/article/view/77387 Matkailuelämyksiä ilman matkaa? Fokusryhmätutkimus matkailutyyppisestä kulutuksesta osana kuluttajan arkea 2018-12-21T14:54:07+02:00 Juulia Räikkönen juulia.raikkonen@utu.fi Heli Marjanen heli.marjanen@utu.fi Anna-Maija Kohijoki anna-maija.kohijoki@utu.fi Ira Lahovuo ira.lahovuo@utu.fi <p>The current study focuses on touristic behavior in the context of everyday consumption by examining the geographical and psychological transitions of tourism and leisure as well as the factors that enable touristic behavior in everyday environments. Tourism has traditionally based on geographical perspective, taking place somewhere away from one’s usual habitat. This view is, however, challenged by, e.g. globalization, mobility, and consumers’ ever-increasing desire for experiences, not only abroad but also in everyday life. In the study, touristic behavior is defined as a temporary subjective perception, a state of mind, of a person escaping from one’s daily obligations and routines through geographical or psychological transitions. Based on discussions on the liminoid nature of tourism and leisure as well as on value creation regarding experiential consumption, the empirical data gathered from focus group interviews was analyzed. The study indicates that even though the geographical transition has an important role in achieving a touristic state of mind, also everyday environments and consumption can offer certain escapes from daily routines, resulting in a feeling of being a tourist. Especially when friends and relatives come to visit, the home environment may appear as a tourism destination, enabling touristic experiences.</p> 2018-12-21T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/matkailututkimus/article/view/77389 Katsaus yhteiskunnalliseen yrittäjyyteen matkailussa: osallisuuden mahdollisuudet pohjoisen urbaaneissa paikallisyhteisöissä 2018-12-21T14:53:06+02:00 Minni Haanpää minni.haanpaa@ulapland.fi Maria Hakkarainen maria.hakkarainen@ulapland.fi Anu Harju-Myllyaho Anu.Harju-Myllyaho@lapinamk.fi <p>The purpose of this literature review is to explore how social entrepreneurship research is conducted in the field of tourism and to consider the possibilities, limitations and challenges, which are included in it in urban, northern environment. Social entrepreneurship in tourism can be attached to a larger context of the inclusion and possibilities of inclusion, which are in tourism research discussed in terms of social and inclusive tourism. The impact of social entrepreneurship is namely on the social: communities and societies. It aims in producing meaningful influence besides economic benefit to the society. In this review, we first explore how social entrepreneurship is discussed in the field of tourism research. We also reflect what kind of viewpoints the discussions offer to social entrepreneurship in tourism in the northern, urban context. Based on the review, the central terms of social entrepreneurship in tourism are value creation, social innovations and sustainability. The aim of the social enterprises in tourism is especially to develop the living conditions of the community through, for instance, creating jobs, increasing the employability of those at risk of exclusion and supporting communities in the periphery. The social enterprises are studied very little in the context of urban north since the studies focus on rural destinations.</p> 2018-12-21T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/matkailututkimus/article/view/77390 Listening to the local voices of a destination - “Live like a local” experiences in Helsinki 2018-12-21T14:51:55+02:00 Essi Kuusimäki essi.kuusimaki@gmail.com José-Carlos García-Rosell Jose-Carlos.Garcia-Rosell@ulapland.fi 2018-12-21T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/matkailututkimus/article/view/77391 Paikallisten tarinoista ideoita matkailun kehittämiseen 2018-12-21T14:51:37+02:00 Petra Paloniemi petra.paloniemi@lapinamk.fi Salla Jutila salla.jutila@ulapland.fi Maria Hakkarainen maria.hakkarainen@ulapland.fi 2018-12-21T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/matkailututkimus/article/view/77254 Autenttisuutta ja paikkaan sitoutumista - kakkosasukkaana Kemijärvellä 2018-12-21T14:49:31+02:00 Heli Ilola heli.ilola@ulapland.fi 2018-12-21T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/matkailututkimus/article/view/77255 Muutosvoimaisen tutkimuksen pohdin­taa pohjoisella konferenssimatkalla 2018-12-21T14:50:27+02:00 Outi Kulusjärvi outi.kulusjarvi@oulu.fi 2018-12-21T00:00:00+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##