https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/issue/feed Suomen Antropologi: Journal of the Finnish Anthropological Society 2018-12-10T22:34:24+02:00 Matti Eräsaari matti.erasaari@helsinki.fi Open Journal Systems <p><em>Suomen Antropologi – Journal of the Finnish Anthropological Society</em> is an open access peer-reviewed publication which accepts scholarly articles, review articles, research reports, critical essays, conference reports, book reviews, and news and information in the field of anthropology and related studies.</p> https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74083 Editorial: on open access publishing 2018-12-10T22:34:24+02:00 Andrew Graan andygraan@gmail.com Elina I. Hartikainen elina.hartikainen@helsinki.fi Timo Kallinen timo.kallinen@uef.fi Ville Laakkonen ville.laakkonen@uta.fi Tuomas Tammisto tutam@iki.fi Pekka Tuominen pekka.johannes.tuominen@gmail.com Matti Eräsaari matti.erasaari@helsinki.fi 2018-08-01T11:24:45+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/69099 Business, Transnationalism, and Patrimony 2018-12-10T22:31:31+02:00 Falina Enriquez fenriquez2@wisc.edu <p style="margin-top: 0.19in; margin-bottom: 0.1in; line-height: 150%;"><a name="_GoBack"></a> <span style="color: #00000a;"><span style="font-family: Liberation Serif, serif;"><span style="font-family: Times New Roman, serif;">This article examines how musicians involved in the government sponsored music scene in Recife, the capital of the Brazilian state of Pernambuco, (meta)musically perform different versions of the ‘entrepreneurial self,’ a form of neoliberal subjectivity. Through comparing specific musicians’ practices and narratives, I argue Pernambucan state sponsorship is a mechanism which redefines citizenship on entrepreneurial terms and reinforces structural inequality. As government programs provide new opportunities to formalize and professionalize their labor, musicians face more bureaucratic and socioeconomic challenges that require them to broaden their musical labor to include skills like social media marketing and grant proposal writing. These expectations are difficult enough for middle-class, educated musicians to meet, but even harder for marginalized, lower-class, and racialized citizens to manage. By comparing how three musicians construct themselves as business-oriented, transnational, or patrimonial entrepreneurs, the article makes explicit what similar studies suggest, but often leave implicit: professionalism and entrepreneurialism are increasingly interdependent. Furthermore, while the entrepreneurial self is predicated on autonomy, these</span> <span style="font-family: Times New Roman, serif;">musicians' autonomy paradoxically depends on a combination of social networks and state sponsorship. In sum, the article&nbsp;reveals how individuals are creating new subjectivities to adapt to changing economic conditions. </span></span></span></p> 2018-08-01T11:39:45+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74069 Stealing Sophie Calle 2018-12-10T22:31:50+02:00 Alyssa Grossman alysrgrossman@gmail.com 2018-08-01T11:38:50+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74070 Stealing as a form of life 2018-12-10T22:32:09+02:00 Roger Sansi rogersansi@ub.edu 2018-08-01T11:37:56+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74071 The Different Audiences of Sophie Calle 2018-12-10T22:32:28+02:00 Jennifer Clarke j.clarke5@rgu.ac.uk 2018-08-01T11:36:56+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74072 What comes after the letter 2018-12-10T22:32:48+02:00 Selena Kimball selenakimball@gmail.com 2018-08-01T11:35:40+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74107 Response by Alyssa Grossman 2018-12-10T22:31:13+02:00 Alyssa Grossman alyssagrossman@gmail.com 2018-08-01T11:52:30+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74074 Lectio Praecursoria: Chocó Challenges: Communities Negotiating Matters of Concern and Care on Colombia’s Margin 2018-12-10T22:33:07+02:00 Nicolás Acosta García nicolas.acosta@gmail.com <p>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> 2018-08-01T11:34:22+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74075 Interview with Tim Ingold 2018-12-10T22:33:26+02:00 Timo Kaartinen timo.kaartinen@helsinki.fi Tim Ingold tim.ingold@abdn.ac.uk 2018-08-01T11:32:58+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74076 Gregorič Bon, Nataša and Jaka Repič (eds), Moving places: Relations, return, and belonging 2018-12-10T22:33:45+02:00 Phaedra Douzina-Bakalaki phaedra.douzina-bakalaki@helsinki.fi 2018-08-01T11:29:09+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://journal.fi/suomenantropologi/article/view/74077 Jackson, Michael, How Lifeworlds Work: Emotionality, Sociality, and the Ambiguity of Being 2018-12-10T22:34:04+02:00 Anna-Riikka Kojonsaari a-r.k@hotmail.com 2018-08-01T11:25:42+03:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##