Editorial Board

The members of the Editorial Board are experts in agricultural and food sciences and are invited for three years.

Professor Pekka Uimari, Editor in Chief (animal genetics), University of Helsinki

D.Sc. Tapio Salo (soil science, horticulture), Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)

D. Sc Anna-Maija Heikkilä (agricultural and food economics), Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)

D.Sc. Kirsi Jouppila (food technology), University of Helsinki

D.Sc. Kaisa Kuoppala (animal science, animal nutrition), Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)

D.Ph. Terho Hyvönen (agroecology, biodiversity), Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)

D.Sc. Ari Rajala (crop science), Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)

D.Ph. Tuula Puhakainen, Managing Editor (crop science, genetics)


Advisory Board

 The Advisory Board consists of nine internationally recognized agricultural and food scientists. Volunteer terms last three calendar years. The members of the Advisory Board for the period 2014-2017 are:

Prof. Ing-Marie Gren (environmental economics), Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden

Prof. Helinä Hartikainen (soil science),  University of Helsinki, Finland

Helinä Hartikainen is professor in soil and environmental chemistry at Helsinki University. Her main research themes deal with the relationship between environmental quality and human well-being.  Biogeochemistry and soil-mediated biofortification of plants with selenium as well as the biological and biochemical responses of plants to selenium has been her long-term research interest. The studies on soil-derived environmental loading are focused on phosphorus losses, their impact on the recipient water as well as on agricultural options to control the phosphorus transport via erosion and surface runoff. Other topics are the risk assessment of heavy metals and detrimental metalloids in soils and remediation options of polluted sites.

Dr. Jan Willem Hofstee (agcotechnology), Wageningen University, The Netherlands

Prof. Vibeke Langer ( acroecology), University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Prof. Anu Hopia (food science), University of Turku, Finland

Anu Hopia is a professor in food development at University of Turku.  She has a PhD degree in food chemistry from University of Helsinki. Professor Hopia´s main research themes deal with chemistry of food with special focus on molecular gastronomy. Her research topics has dealt with chemistry of lipid oxidation and antioxidants and she has also experience in research and development of functional foods. Other topics of her research interest is molecular gastronomy as well as sensory quality and liking of healthy foods.

Prof. Kyrre Rickertsen (consumer economics), Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Norway

Kyrre Rickertsen has a M.Sc. in agricultural economics from the Agricultural University of Norway (1983), a M.Sc. in agricultural economics from University of California, Davis (1985), and a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Oslo (1990). He is a professor in economics in the School of Economics and Business at the Norwegian University of Life Sciences in Ås and a research associate at the Norwegian Agricultural Research Institute in Oslo. His research interests include agricultural, experimental and health economics with an emphasis on consumer behavior and demand analysis. For more detail, see http://www.umb.no/ior/employees/kyrre.rickertsen

Prof. Gustavo Slafer (crop science) University of Lleida, Spain

GA Slafer (B.Sc. in Ag. Science, M.Sc. in Agronomy, and Ph.D. in Crop Physiology at Melbourne University, Australia) is ICREA’s Research Professor at the University of Lleida. His scientific activities and expertise are: physiology of yield; carbon and nitrogen relationships and eco-physiology of crop developmental processes; with some experience in crop modelling, plant physiology and agro-ecology. He publishes extensively in journals focused on crop physiology and in books published by international publishers. Dr. Slafer has edited or co-edited 6 scientific books and published more than 150 scientific papers in SCI-indexed journals. His h-index (Web of Science, core collection) at Sepotember 2014 is 39. Along the last 10 years he delivered invited presentations (either talks in conferences/meetings or invited seminars in international centres) in Argentina; Australia; Brazil; Canada; Chile; China; Finland, Hungary; Lebanon; Mexico; The Netherlands; Tunisia; UK; Uruguay; and USA.

Prof. Sinne Smed (consumer economics), University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Sinne Smed has a general interest in consumer behaviour, with particular focus on regulating, understanding and explaining consumer behaviour in relation to diet healthiness and the derived environmental effects hereof. Theoretically her main focus has been on characteristics and hedonic models and, specifically modelling how information affects consumers’ decisions and the resulting utility implications.  Empirically, the focus has been on micro-econometric investigations allowing for behavioural heterogeneity where the challenge often has been to take self-selection, incomplete data as well as censoring into account.  Her research can be divided into four main areas: 1) Using long panel data, exploring new methods and new combinations of data, 2) The heterogeneity of consumer acquisition, understanding and reaction to information, 3) The effect and design of optimal regulation of consumer behaviour, 4) The underlying causes and consequences of consumer choice of food

Prof. Johanna Vilkki (animal genetics), Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)

Johanna Vilkki is a professor of Farm Animal Nutrigenomics at Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke). She has extensive and internationally acknowledged expertise in livestock genomics (N of refereed papers 82, h-index 33). Her research team has been actively involved in analyses of genetic diversity of farm animal populations, as well as in mapping and characterization genes affecting production, fertility and health traits in livestock and producing markers for selection of these traits. Her most recent interests cover nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics research, including host-microbe-diet interactions regulating rumen function in dairy cattle.